La Guerita is going to make an Ofrenda

(Is that even how you spell it?) So, Mr. Serrano is homesick, and kind of whiny, and throws a mean guilt trip like no other. Its not changing the fact that I’m going to my MoMFA’s birthday party. On the one hand, I know how he feels, and I don’t want to abandon him over the weekend so that he can get picked at by awesome people in his family, but I want to have fun and I kind of owe it to my MoMFA.Kind of. ^_^

Even so, stress is running at an all time high. Da Crazy One is acting childish as usual, and its *very* hard not to sink to her level. Reminding myself that she’s not that mature, that she’s obviously picking on me because she feels so crappy about herself, and other true things like that doesn’t help the fact that I hover between being passive aggressive to Godzilla in human form. I would love to fulfill all of her paranoid fantasies and deliberately do all the things she’s ever accused me of that I wouldn’t have thought of on my own.

On top of all that, Ye Olde Grumpy man is on his way out of life, and is doing a bit of Paschal’s Wager (I think that’s what it is called anyway) by trying to cover his butt in as many religions as possible so that he won’t end up in a Hell he isn’t sure exists.

Mr. Serrano is just having a tough time being so far from home. He’s not with his family, its getting colder, and Día de los Muertos is coming up. This is normally when he’d be partying, relaxing with family, and enjoying the season- and he’s stuck up in Michigan. On top of all that for him, I have a feeling there’s some drama going on at home here in Michigan. He’ll tell me when he’s ready, but I can tell he’s depressed. He already feels like crap because the grandma of his half sister died recently, and he didn’t know about it until weeks afterward.

And then, I’m going away the weekend we would have celebrated Día de los Muertos, which starts the first of November.

So, what can I do to get my mind off the Crazy One, Ye Olde Grumpy Man, lack of apartment, and cheer up Mr. Serrano just a bit?

!HOLA OFRENDA!

I borrowed this from a blog

While mine isn’t going to be that epically huge, and I don’t have the money for the flowers, I’m going to attempt it. I have a big picture of Our Lady of Gaudelupe, the Pope, pictures of my dead relatives, and while I don’t have any pictures of his dead relatives I’m going to see if I can find something that I know they did or would have done in life.

For example, Mr. Serrano has a grandmother who was very religious and prayed the Rosary nightly. So I’m going to add a couple of rosaries. There will of course, be candles, but I have to find something to put them in. No sense setting the house on fire.

This also means getting some food- I should make some arroz con leche (delicious) and maybe hot chocolate if its cold out. Put up some bowls of fruit, some salt, pictures of the Saints, and I’m thinking of making a cross out of yellow and orange leaves, because I don’t have the money for marigolds. The papel picado shouldn’t be too hard to do, and I can even put my origami skills to work!

I think it will come out looking pretty cool, if a bit makeshift. I’m even going to attempt the pyramid shape, since I’ve got some boxes that might work for.

It’s probably going to look wonky…but maybe it will bring a smile to Mr. Serrano’s face!

Leave a comment

Filed under Mr. Serrano and other fun stuff

Leave a Reply

